News & Updates


March 9, 2021

Edmonton, Alberta (March 9, 2021) – RDAR is pleased to announce the new RDAR Board of Directors elected Dr. David Chalack as Board Chair and Ms. Melissa Downing as Vice-Chair to serve until the 2022 Annual Meeting.

RDAR is confident that with the return of Dr. Chalack as Chair and the election of Ms. Downing, the Board will continue to ensure that results driven research leads to innovation for our province’s agriculture and food industries.

Earlier today, representatives from RDAR’s 33 voting Member organizations came together to elect its new Board of Directors.

  • D’Arcy Hilgartner (Camrose)
  • Fred Lozeman (Claresholm)
  • JP Brouwer (Ponoka)
  • Stanford Blade (Edmonton)
  • Brian Brewin (Taber)
  • Melissa Downing (Metiskow)
  • Steven Kenyon (Busby)
  • David Chalack (Calgary)
  • John Kolk (Picture Butte)
  • Jason Lenz (Bentley)

RDAR’s dedication to being producer-led is a fundamental part of the organization’s DNA. Members have helped shape the overarching direction and now the leadership of RDAR.

About RDAR
RDAR is a not-for-profit organization that will continually consult with Alberta’s crop and livestock producers to set research priorities and distribute funds. Its mandate is: to support results driven agriculture research priorities and programs that will increase competitiveness and profitability of Alberta’s agriculture industry. Arm’s length from the provincial government, RDAR is funded by two sources: The Government of Alberta, and the Government of Canada and the Government of Alberta through the Canadian Agricultural Partnership.